Skip to main content

Credit commitments

A credit commitment lets you lock in a lower price for your usage. With a credit commitment, you buy a minimum amount of credits every month for a year.

Written by Sharetribe Team

What are credit commitments?

Credit commitments let you save on usage fees. When you commit to minimum monthly usage, all usage up to your committed credit number is billed at the lower rate, even in months where your actual usage is lower. Without a commitment, your usage is billed at the standard volume discount tiers.

The three different credit commitment options are for marketplaces at different levels of monthly usage:

  • 10M credits/month: $249/month

  • 50M credits/month: $499/month

  • 200M credits/month: $999/month

Usage that goes above the credit commitment is charged based on volume discounts.

How do I know which commitment to choose?

Here’s a quick overview of the most optimal commitment based on monthly credit usage:

Monthly usage

Optimal commitment

0 – 5.18M credits

No commitment

5.18M – 23M credits

10M credits/month

23M – 115.5M credits

50M credits/month

115.43M+ credits

200M credits/month

What happens when I make a credit commitment?

When you make a credit commitment, it applies to your usage starting the month you subscribe.

  • If you commit on August 31st, it applies to your August usage, billed in September.

  • If you commit on September 3rd, it applies starting from your September usage, billed in October. It does not apply retroactively to your August usage.

Even when you don’t use the full amount of committed credits, you will still pay the credit commitment monthly price.

The credit commitment payments are monthly even though the commitment is for 12 months. When a credit commitment ends after 12 months, you can continue with regular, volume-based pricing or choose to commit to another year. The commitment does not renew automatically.

What if I exceed the credit commitment usage?

Any additional usage above the committed credits is charged according to usage tiers.

For example, if you’ve committed to 50M credits and your monthly usage is 60M credit, the extra 10M are billed at the usage tier of 50M – 100M: 0.8¢/1,000 credits. The extra 10M would cost you $80.

Your usage fee for that month would be $499 (50M commitment) + $80 (extra usage) = $579.

Why are my fees lower if I commit annually?

If we know that you’re going to have at least a certain amount of usage in the foreseeable future, that helps save money, as we can negotiate better deals with our infrastructure vendors and otherwise prepare for future growth. We’re passing these savings to our customers by offering you a lower price for a longer commitment.

What are the commitment terms?

When you make a commitment, you agree to the following terms.

  • The commitment applies to your usage for 12 months, starting from the usage in the month you subscribe.

  • You commit to paying a minimum amount of credits according to your credit commitment every month for the next 12 months.

  • You can’t cancel or downgrade to a lower credit commitment during the commitment period.

  • After 12 months, the commitment ends. If you don’t restart it, standard volume-based pricing applies.

  • If you use less than the committed credits in a given month, no credits will roll over to the next month or be refunded.

  • If you use more than the committed credits in a given month, the extra usage is billed according to the appropriate usage tiers.

Can I upgrade my credit commitment?

Yes. Please note that if you upgrade to a higher commitment at any point during an active commitment period, the 12-month commitment period restarts.

Can I downgrade my credit commitment?

No. You can’t downgrade a credit commitment to a lower one during the 12-month commitment period. At the end of the period, the commitment ends, and you can subscribe to a different commitment or continue with tiered volume pricing.

Can I cancel my credit commitment?

You can’t cancel a credit commitment, as the low pricing is motivated by the committed usage for a year. After you make a commitment, you’ll be charged monthly for usage according to the commitment price for 12 months. After 12 months, your commitment ends automatically.

However, if you choose to discontinue your marketplace while you have an active credit commitment, you can pay 50% of the remainder of your commitment in one go to be relieved from the rest of your commitment.

For example, if you have $499/month commitment (50M credits/month) and you want to end it after six months, you can pay $499/month for the remaining 6 months (a total of $2,994), or pay $1,497 as a one time payment. After the 50% payment is done, you will not be charged for the remaining months.

Did this answer your question?